The Public Relations Society of America’s Miami Chapter To Honor Local Business Leaders and Award Seven Scholarships


Harve Mogul, President Emeritus, United Way and Dr. Fernando Figueredo, Florida International University to be Recognized

The Miami Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (Register and pay online at the Ev Clay Endowment event page or search upcoming events on

The PRSA Miami Bill Adams Lifetime Achievement Award, named after the late Bill Adams, a nationally respected public relations professional and educator, recognizes exceptional leadership and contributions to the public relations profession. This year’s recipient is Dr. Fernando Figueredo, APR, Executive Director of the Career and Talent Development Department at FIU and former Chair of the Public Relations and Advertising Faculty at FIU’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication. He holds a Ph.D. in Mass Communications from the University of Seville in Spain, where his doctoral dissertation focused on the influence of Spanish-language media in the U.S. Figueredo also holds the accreditation certification of APR.

The PRSA Miami Royal Palm Award is presented to a member of the community who embodies and demonstrates key values of the public relations profession and who has made a significant contribution to Miami-Dade County. The recipient maintains a high standard of ethics and social responsibility along with positively affecting attitudes, beliefs and behavior for the common good. This year’s recipient, Harve Mogul, serves as President Emeritus of United Way of Miami-Dade after a 27-year career. He is the former campaign director for Ketchum, Inc. where he helped plan the national campaign to raise $100 million for the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C. In 2015, he was the recipient of the Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce’s Sand in My Shoes Award.

Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Endowment Fund

The Ev Clay/PRSA Miami Chapter Endowment Fund is the largest scholarship fund in the nation that is operated by a PRSA chapter, providing financial resources to students with an interest in public relations. Since its establishment in 1985, it has awarded more than $233,000 to 146 deserving students.

The following are the 2017 scholarship recipients who will be honored at the luncheon:

Florida International University

Malaika Desrameaux

Meredith Marseille

Florida Memorial University

Shieda Y. Castillo

Miami Dade College

Izabella Felpeto

Yaneth Imperatrice

University of Miami

Jiaying Li

Micaela Rooney

About PRSA Miami

With more than 200 members, the PRSA Miami Chapter ( and @PRSAMiami) has grown to become the preeminent public relations organization in Miami-Dade County and has always enjoyed an outstanding reputation in the PRSA network for the strength of its chapter management and the quality of its programs. PRSA Miami offers members the opportunity to learn, network, develop leadership skills, and advance professionally in a collegial atmosphere.

It's on us. Share your news here.

Submit your stories and articles to citybizlist today.