NAHU Installs New Board for 2017-2018


Mike Embry

The National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU) recently installed its 2017-2018 Board of Trustees at its 87th Annual Convention and Exhibition in Orlando, FL.

Michael Embry was installed as NAHU president. Mike entered the health insurance business over 33 years ago, dedicating his career to specializing as an independent agent in health insurance and employee benefits. In 1989, he founded and ran his own small benefits planning agency. He then went on to create the employee benefits division of Comerica Insurance Services, Inc., until 2014 when he purchased the practice from Comerica. Currently, Embry is the founder and president of Comprehensive Benefits, Inc.

Mike has received great recognition for his leadership from the insurance agent advisory councils of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Michigan, Health Alliance Plan, Priority Health and the Michigan Business & Professional Association. During his nearly 25-year membership with NAHU, he has served on several boards and committees as a regional, state and local leader and has received numerous awards for his efforts.

“The overriding objective is to ensure that our members are equipped to thrive in the marketplace that they face,” Embry said. “Because of NAHU’s dedication and being instrumental in affecting health policies nationwide, our members have an edge on their competitors. They are the professionals American consumers can turn to during this complicated and confusing time in the healthcare industry.”

The 2017-2018 Board of Trustees:

President Mike Embry, Comprehensive Benefits, Inc., Southfield, MI
President Elect Rusty Rice, AVESIS, Inc., San Antonio, TX
Vice President Patricia Griffey, The Healy Group, South Bend, IN
Treasurer R. Dane Rianhard, TriBridge Partners, LLC, Baltimore, MD
Secretary Eugene Starks, Benefit Administration Services, Ltd., Ridgeland, MS
Immediate Past President James R. Stenger, MVS Consulting, Fort Myers, FL
Membership Chair Deborah Crouch, Falcone Associates, Inc., Syracuse, NY
Legislative Chair Annette Bechtold, OneDigital, Atlanta, GA
Region I Vice President Jeannie Comins, MVP Healthcare, Syracuse, NY
Region II Vice President Erica Hain, Keystone Insurers Group, Inc., Northumberland, PA
Region III Vice President Michael Deagle, BenAxis, Inc., Schaumburg, IL
Region IV Vice President Alycia Riedl, Willis Towers Watson, St. Louis Park, MN
Region V Vice President Paige Phillips, AWM, Inc., Calera, AL
Region VI Vice President Kelly Fristoe, Financial Partners, Wichita Falls, TX
Region VII Vice President Raymond Magnuson, Magnuson and Associates, Tucson, AZ
Region VIII Vice President Linda Rose Koehler, Herzog Insurance Agency, Pleasanton, CA

The National Association of Health Underwriters represents more than 100,000 professional health insurance agents and brokers who provide insurance for millions of Americans. NAHU is headquartered in Washington, DC. For more information, visit

It's on us. Share your news here.

Submit your stories and articles to citybizlist today.